SPILLWORTHY by Johanna Harness Debuts

Congratulations to my dear friend, my mentor, Johanna Harness, on the publication of her novel SPILLWORTHY! It’s a remarkable story told in such a clever manner, the reader will inhale it in one sitting. The characters are beautifully exposed in their own writing. As the story unfolds, the suspense builds urgency. SPILLWORTHY is so worth your time. If you found this book, you were meant to find it.

SPILLWORTHY cover

SPILLWORTHY, by Johanna Harness

Surely you know Johanna Harness, at least by name, if you’re a writer or reader on Twitter. She created the enormously popular #amwriting hashtag and community. Whether you know her or not, take a look at her bio at the bottom of this piece.

Have you read the excerpt Johanna posted? Oh, do read it! It’s a choice segment from the start of the story which introduces a charming, somewhat jaded young man. Reading it will make the next part of this blog make more sense. Go on, take a moment. We’ll wait.

See, the fascinating mind of Johanna Harness suggested writers put together cameo appearances of one of *our* characters within the SPILLWORTHY world. That’s what’s coming next. So much fun to write! My character, Dawn Garson, writes in first person. She appears in the first book of my Mirror saga, as yet unpublished.

Did you read the SPILLWORTHY excerpt yet? Yes? Good. Here’s Dawn’s cameo, which does NOT appear in the book:

 

SPILLWORTHY, Cameo of Dawn Garson

Encouraged by my sons, I took a vacation in this world. Of course, they didn’t know of my sojourns into the other one. Having heard so much about Portland, I chose it as my destination. The last two days proved it was the right place. So green and lovely.

I’m not exactly made for tromping around sightseeing, but my cane and I made good use of the time. I found myself in a little neighborhood not far from the hotel which suited my budget. Glancing around, I caught sight of a second hand store. On impulse, I crossed the street to it and browsed a bit. I found a pretty blouse and a couple of beautiful coffee mugs which would be practical in both worlds.

As I left the store, still stuffing the new items into my shoulder bag, a shop window grabbed my attention. It was a music shop, a lot like the one in which I worked so many years ago. While the medium changed over the years, music store windows did not. This one was plastered with promotional posters, still album cover sized. Rampant images and color gave way to… what was that?

I honed in on the unlikely poster. It was not a poster at all. In fact, it looked like a pizza box top, complete with a couple of grease stains. Dense handwriting covered it. I stepped closer and read about Keats. It was like stepping into a cloud of happiness. The writer not only analyzed Keats’ writing well, the prose was positively lyrical. Clearly, someone with a poet’s soul wrote from his joy. I wished I could meet him or her and share a meal, just jabbering about whatever came up. Giddiness bubbled inside me at the thought.

Hungry by then, I stopped in at a nearby pizza place. I guess I was inspired by that not-a-poster. A couple supreme slices later, I had the rest boxed up to put into the minifridge in my hotel room. As I left, a kid quietly stopped me and asked if I would give him the leftover pizza. Poor kid was grubby and wore clothes made for someone of another size. I didn’t have to think about it. “Yes, please take it and enjoy. It’s still warm.” His face lit up and after thanking me, he walked to the corner and sat next to an old man with a dog to share the feast.

Portland. Such a good choice.

 

Johanna Harness bio, as taken from Goodreads: Johanna Harness writes middle grade and young adult stories in both Northwest and fantastic settings, often forgetting which is which. She created the #amwriting community on Twitter.

My opinion of her bio? Far too short, but once the writer starts on a complete picture of this woman, it’s hard to stop. Not just a talented writer, she’s a mother, wife, homeschooler, caretaker of critters large and small, and so much more.

You’ll want to read SPILLWORTHY, available in paperback and Kindle format. I predict awards and great things for this novel and for Johanna herself.

 

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “SPILLWORTHY by Johanna Harness Debuts

  1. johannaharness May 1, 2014 at 7:07 am Reply

    Thanks so much for this, Jess. I love feeling that Ulysses’ world is rich enough for others to step across that threshold with their characters. I feel so honored you wrote this.

    Liked by 1 person

    • JC Rosen May 2, 2014 at 1:33 am Reply

      Johanna, you wrote a world so fully realized, it was easy to slip Dawn into it. I’m honored you chose this little blog for your release announcement. Thank you!

      Take care,
      JC

      Like

  2. johannaharness May 1, 2014 at 7:09 am Reply

    Ooh! Almost forgot. Anyone who comments today will be entered into a drawing to win copies of the book. People who comment on more than one post during the blog hop will be entered multiple times. Full details are here: http://www.spillworthy.com/p/blog-hop.html

    Liked by 1 person

    • JC Rosen May 2, 2014 at 1:34 am Reply

      Oooh – don’t miss your chance! Comment each day starting here. Trust me, you WANT to read SPILLWORTHY!

      Take care,
      JC

      Like

  3. Karen Schindler May 1, 2014 at 7:19 am Reply

    I enjoyed the invitation to hop over and read the book excerpt while you waited JC. I had an extra cup of coffee in hand for you, but you’d left your desk for a minute, so I just sat it on your blotter and transported on over [my coffee in hand] to read the excerpt.

    Johanna is an exceptional talent and her story immediately pulls you in, pulls out a chair and tells your body to sit down and stay a while — letting your brain, eyes, heart and imagination do all the work.

    Thank you for hosting the blog hop today. You guys rock.
    Karen :0)

    Liked by 2 people

    • johannaharness May 1, 2014 at 10:10 am Reply

      Thank you so much, Karen. *hugs*

      Like

    • JC Rosen May 2, 2014 at 1:36 am Reply

      Coffee is always a good choice. I’m glad you took the opportunity to read Johanna’s excerpt. Just wonderful stuff. Thanks!

      Take care,
      JC

      Like

  4. John Ross Barnes May 1, 2014 at 5:11 pm Reply

    It just happens I’ve read Spillworthy and it is a fine book. I loved the Dawn cameo Jesse. Just perfect.

    Liked by 1 person

    • JC Rosen May 2, 2014 at 1:36 am Reply

      It really is a fine book, I agree. Thanks for the review of my cameo, too!

      Take care,
      JC

      Like

  5. Jon Strother May 1, 2014 at 8:06 pm Reply

    Good cameo, JC. Ties in so well with the book.
    Waves at Karen.
    Good luck, Johanna. It’s a terrific book.
    ~jon

    Liked by 1 person

    • JC Rosen May 2, 2014 at 1:38 am Reply

      Hi, Jon. It’s great to see you. Loved your interview of Johanna! Thanks for the review of the cameo. I couldn’t agree more with your estimation of SPILLWORTHY – terrific book!

      Take care,
      JC

      Like

Leave a comment