#NaNoWriMo: How I Survived My NaNo’s Death

 

Embracing the Spirit of NaNo

 

Our heroine is plagued by an annual NaNo Curse, dear Reader. Everything from pneumonia to chronic migraine has hit me in November, making me work all the harder to reach my goal for NaNoWriMo. Despite the Curse, I have always hit the goal line, sometimes by the skin of my teeth.

This year? Not so much.

The Curse started early and stayed late this year. I cleared several hurdles, but the biggest obstacle came in the form of extended ER visits and hospital stays. Since I’ve been home, I enjoyed an ambulance ride, had to go back inpatient briefly, and am giving myself IV antibiotics at home. A barrage of home nurses visiting and the expected journeys to doctors’ offices take up much time.

It leaves little time for writing.

I talk and post about “The Spirit of NaNo” every year.  I tell wrimos they’re winners because they write what they can when they can as they navigate the obstacle course of their busy lives. I believe it to my toes. This year, I embrace it on a personal level. For the first time in years, I got nowhere near the 50k. Sure, I could have cheated and got my 50k of nonsense validated. That isn’t why I participate in NaNo, though. I do it to enjoy the balls-to-the-wall writing experience. I may not have had a lot of that energy writing this year, but I dove in when I could.

That’s the Spirit of NaNo. My NaNo novel died, but I survived. I feel like a winner because I held onto the philosophy behind NaNoWriMo. That’s the basis of any goal I set going into NaNo each year.

How did you do?

Tagged: , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “#NaNoWriMo: How I Survived My NaNo’s Death

  1. Icy Sedgwick December 2, 2014 at 11:12 am Reply

    I managed to finish mine and I’m still working on it because it needs more words, but I was pleased at how much it taught me I CAN do a million and one things at once.

    Liked by 1 person

    • JC Rosen December 3, 2014 at 11:53 pm Reply

      Congratulations on a job well done, Icy! The lessons we learn from doing NaNo are wide and varied, but that’s at the top of the list. I’m always impressed by people who work on NaNoWriMo despite all their other commitments.

      Take care,
      JC

      Like

Leave a Reply

