#NaNoWriMo: The Spirit of NaNo

 

The Real Spirit of NaNo, by JC Rosen

It’s November 10th. We’re now in the thick of NaNoWriMo.

Many shook their heads and threw up their hands during that first week. I can’t blame them. NaNo is a big challenge. The first few years I peered down that trail toward the goal line, it was so far away, it was nearly invisible in the distance. I miserably gave up within days the first two years and just plain skipped it the third. It was so bad, I don’t even remember the years – I repressed the whole thing.

Doesn’t sound like much of a pep talk, does it?

Here’s the pep part: I won the first time in 2008 when I finally tried again. I won a week early! I almost put away my keyboard five days into it, though. I was sick and miserable. The last thing I wanted to do was write a million words each day. A good friend refused to let me give up. “Just write something today. I don’t care if it’s 300 words. Write something.” So I did. Then I crawled back into bed with my cold medicine and my teddy bear. When I woke up, I hazily did it again. A few days later, I was healthy. I was behind, sure, but I kept writing. With a little extra each day, I could catch up.

Need more pep? All right, you asked for it: my NaNo Soapbox.

Ladies and Gentlemen, behold the Spirit of NaNo!

Look beyond the fifty thousand word goal. It is not that shininess. No indeed, it is within you already. You have only to let it free and let it flow.

Does that sound ridiculous? Stay with me a minute.

It’s the Power of Writing, my friends. Just feel The Power of Writing, let it flow through you, let it catch up your imagination and run out your hands without the demon of the Inner Editor making you second guess it! That is indeed the Spirit of NaNo. Grab that and you’ll JUST WRITE. Here’s the secret: write every day, make a habit of it and you’ve won the real shiny prize.

If you commit to writing when you can, writing around your obstacles toward a goal you set for yourself – that’s how you embrace the Spirit of NaNo!

 

Stick with it, everyone, and may you all win the Real Shiny Prize.

photo credit: Anant N S (www.thelensor.tumblr.com) via photopin cc

Tagged: , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “#NaNoWriMo: The Spirit of NaNo

  1. johannaharness November 11, 2014 at 7:52 am Reply

    Just write. Yep. That’s what we do.

    Liked by 1 person

    • JC Rosen November 12, 2014 at 7:04 pm Reply

      Chug Chug “I think I can I think I can I think I can” Chug Chug

      Do what you can, when you can. Just. Write. You got it, FL.

      Take care,
      JC

      Like

Leave a Reply

