Cursed NaNo Curse

The Cursed NaNo Curse, JC Rosen

Photo by Pat (Cletch) Williams

You may be aware of our heroine’s battle with the NaNo Curse each year, Dear Reader. Fighting through it in order to grab enough words is always a challenge. Over the last several years, it’s taken the form of health issues. This year is no different. I’m going to be a jittery, stoned mess for Thanksgiving tomorrow. Frankly, it sounds fun.

Usually, the NaNo Curse hits me earlier in the month. I thought it had when I was mildly ill with some back problems, but I fought through and kept writing. Both suddenly exploded the last few days.

BUT…

I’m lucky this year. I already exceeded the 50k. I won’t finish the rough draft for the novel by the end of November, but that’s okay. I’m taking a few days off NaNo to make Thanksgiving as great as possible for my sons and rest.

Cheering on all of you wrimos who are working through the holiday (or the regular days of the week for you who are outside the US). You go grab those good words. Shiny!

Happy Thanksgiving to all, US or no. May the real spirit of the holiday fill you and those you love.

Tagged: , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Cursed NaNo Curse

  1. Tante Willemijn November 21, 2012 at 2:28 pm Reply

    Congrats on the 50k. I’ve yet to start a NaNo. Every year I contemplate doing it and every year something holds me back…maybe next year. (been saying that for 10yrs now)
    Hope you feel better soon and enjoy your Thanksgiving.

    Like

    • JC Rosen November 22, 2012 at 3:53 am Reply

      Thanks! If you’re interested in NaNo at all, I recommend you do it. So long as you stick with it and write every day you can, you’re a winner. Doesn’t matter if you hit the 50k or not, you win the spirit of NaNoWriMo.

      Take care,
      JC

      Like

  2. Johanna Harness November 21, 2012 at 3:06 pm Reply

    You inspire me, Jess. Happy Thanksgiving!

    Like

    • JC Rosen November 22, 2012 at 3:55 am Reply

      I find that so hard to understand, but am grateful to be able to give back, Johanna. Thank you. Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours!

      Take care,
      JC

      Like

Leave a Reply

