Embracing My Own Advice

Our heroine has spoken of her NaNo Curse before, dear Reader. Briefly, each time NaNo comes along, something happens to throw me off track. Minor illness, sprained limb, near misses with an ongoing major illness – you get the idea.

This year, the NaNo Curse holds me firmly in its fetid jaws. A desperately bad first week meant huge amounts to make up. Doable? Surely. And so I marched on, chanting like The Little Engine that Could, “I think I can, I think I can.”

Then came the hospitalization and requisite rehabbing.

Do I still think I can? Well, perhaps I *can* and believe me I shall try my best. I’m here to tell you I don’t think I’ll actually make the 50k this year. That’s a hard admission for someone who usually hits it around the 10th of the month, writing 5k per day. Still, things are as they are.

This is a remarkable exercise for me, though. I’m plunked down in my own advice: embrace the SPIRIT of NaNo! The spirit is to Just Write. Write as you can, when you can, and you’ve already won NaNo. The parent who works full-time and still throws into the fray of NaNo has my highest respect, no matter the total at the end. The student who fights against a full-time schedule just to fit writing in? Props to you. The parent who cares for children all day long and while exhausted after sits in front of the glowing screen creating a story? Amazing to me.

So yeah, I’ve had setbacks. Some doozies. But if they can stick with writing, no matter their total at the end, so can I. Here goes!

Tagged: , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Embracing My Own Advice

  1. Johanna Harness November 19, 2011 at 7:31 am Reply

    You inspire me, Jess. And yes! This is the heart of NaNo.

    Like

    • JC Rosen November 20, 2011 at 2:47 am Reply

      Thanks, Johanna. I’ve spoken of “The Spirit of NaNo” so many times, it’s my turn to embrace it.

      Take care,
      JC

      Like

  2. Kerry Schafer November 19, 2011 at 9:12 am Reply

    Go Jess!! You are a total inspiration. And that is the heart of NaNo indeed – just write. Glad you’re back home again.

    Like

    • JC Rosen November 20, 2011 at 2:51 am Reply

      Thank you, Kerry. It’s a relief to be home. I always prefer to rehab at home rather than what they kindly refer to as “a rehab center.”

      The heart of NaNo – a beautiful way to put it. You’re very kind to consider me an inspiration. I just trudge along like everyone else all year long. It’s nice to break the dry spell and get back to writing, even if it is more slowly than usual. That you care for children and do the job you do is amazing to me. Fitting writing in as well? Talk about inspiring.

      Take care,
      JC

      Like

  3. Jamie McCoard (@Tevyn) November 22, 2011 at 12:26 pm Reply

    I’m doing terrible with my NaNoWriMo, but I don’t think it’s the Mother part or the full-time part. I think it’s the I’m new part and getting into the persistent habit of writing. Lately with T-Day coming I’m falling far behind, but your post here helps me to believe that I am already a winner. Thanks JC.

    Like

    • JC Rosen November 29, 2011 at 8:11 am Reply

      YOU ARE ALREADY A WINNER! I can’t stress that enough. I’m so very touched to hear you’re finding your way to believe it. I apologize for taking so long to respond to this message. (Darn WordPress didn’t tell me it was here.) I hope with all that went on in real life, you recognized that the practice of writing as you can, whenever you can, is the whole reason for NaNo. It’s incredibly cool to internalize that knowledge.

      Take care,
      JC

      Like

Leave a Reply

