NaNoWriMo: The Little Engine That Could

Our heroine has a confession, dear Reader: she is woefully behind on her NaNo word count. As in, well, woefully. I had a singularly bad week and wrote next to nothing. This second week is an improvement, thank heavens. It’s still pretty lackluster, though. 1k1hr wordsprints on #amwriting and #NaNo are helping. I’m still not near my usual 5k/day standard by any means, but that’s okay.

Every year I am awed by those of you who do NaNoWriMo while holding down jobs and/or caring for children. You have my respect if you write at all under those circumstances, but NaNo? C’mon, you’re clearly nuts, right? I mean that in a pleasant manner, just so we’re clear. Some of my best friends are nuts. Come to think of it… never mind. Beside the point.

This year, while I don’t have employment or new children sucking energy directly from my soul, circumstances conspire to do so. Between my health, a litigious landlord, my son’s new job (yay!) and various other challenges, NaNo seemed ill-timed. On reflection, I realized, “Doesn’t it always?”

So yeah, I’m way behind. I have an itty bitty word count. And you know what? That’s okay. Seriously. I’m going to stick with it, despite all those challenges. Hopefully, they’ll mind their manners and not get more challenging. Either way, this is obviously my year to have the basic lesson of NaNoWriMo reinforced.

Just. Write.

My goal is not a number each day at this point. It is effort. My goal is to use the energy I have available to write and…. WRITE. Not because of unwanted consequences, not because of obligation, but because I am a writer.

NaNo is superb for reminding people they are writers. It gives opportunity to kick the muse in the butt, to explore other aspects of the writing process and to just generally have a good time doing what we love to do. Is the creation pretty? Perhaps in its own way to its creator. Isn’t that what really matters? It is to a wrimo, at any rate.

And so I limp toward another 1k1hr wordsprint when possible, my very sketchy outline in hand. If you listen closely, you might hear me muttering, “I think I can, I think I can…

Tagged: , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: The Little Engine That Could

  1. johannaharness November 10, 2011 at 7:25 am Reply

    I know you can. I know you can.

    You inspire me. I’m proud to write alongside you.

    Like

    • JC Rosen November 12, 2011 at 7:50 am Reply

      You are simply the best, Johanna. Thank you.

      With great joy and respect,
      JC

      Like

Leave a Reply

