Considering Collections

Well, considering collection in the singular, anyway. Our heroine struck upon an idea a few months ago, dear Reader, but health issues got in the way of investigating. Perhaps that’s just as well. I’m not rushed doing it and it gives me a chance to turn to you for advice.

Here’s the idea: I’m considering putting together an ebook collection of my spookier flash stories for sale next autumn with an emphasis around (big surprise) Halloween/Samhain. Having never dipped a toe in the waters, I really have no idea what’s involved. The biggest hurdle would be expenses. My budget has literally no budge to it. Another consideration: should I wait until I’m closer to subbing my novel(s) and therefore have my own site/domain up?

These and many more questions are clogging my thought stream. Any words of wisdom are gratefully accepted.

Thanks and take care,

JC

 

Tagged: , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Considering Collections

  1. ~Tim October 1, 2011 at 11:12 am Reply

    Here are three places where I generally find very good advice:

    The Creative Penn http://www.thecreativepenn.com/

    A Newbie’s Guide to Publishing http://jakonrath.blogspot.com/

    The Book Designer http://www.thebookdesigner.com/

    Like

    • JC Rosen October 4, 2011 at 7:39 am Reply

      Thanks so much, Tim. They look like great resources, just what I need right now. Much appreciated.

      Take care,
      JC

      Like

  2. Johanna Harness October 2, 2011 at 7:16 am Reply

    I would love to see you do this, but have no words of advice for the actual process. I’m mostly thinking how much I want to buy this book

    You should go ahead and register your domain. It’s probably not as expensive as you think and you could point it to this blog until you’re ready to develop something else. There’s no reason to wait until you’re close to subbing your novel to get the domain.

    Like

    • JC Rosen October 4, 2011 at 7:42 am Reply

      Definite words of domain wisdom there, Johanna, thanks. Just checked into the two I want and am stunned to discover they’re available. They shall be MINE! You realize I’m going to bug you a bunch about how to set them up, right?

      Take care,
      JC

      Like

  3. BigWords October 2, 2011 at 9:31 am Reply

    Yog’s Law – “Money should flow toward the author.”

    Don’t spend a ton of cash doing something which can be done for pennies. Smashwords is excellent for self-publishing collections of stories (and, really, anything else a person cares to do), and the formatting requirements are clearly stated.

    You do need a web presence these days, but having a website means different things to different people – are you planning something along the lines of an ‘Author’s page” (which can be done with Faebook in literally two minutes), or something geared specifically to the collection? What do you intend to do with the site in a year from now? Or three? Or ten years? Those are important questions when it comes to picking the right domain name.

    Sit back for a few days and look at all the options available to you. The digital landscape is changing on a monthly basis, and new opportunities are making themselves available to the patient and informed.

    Your idea for a collection of flash sounds interesting. 🙂

    Like

    • JC Rosen October 4, 2011 at 7:48 am Reply

      Thanks a bunch! Your thoughtful comments left me… well… thoughtful. I appreciate the pointing toward Smashwords. So many different services are routinely mentioned on Twitter, so a referral to a quality one is great.

      Your statements about a web presence made me examine what I want out of it. I discovered a few things I hadn’t considered before – namely, getting a second domain if only to reserve it for future development. (I don’t really care for FB, but it may be a necessary evil.)

      Take care,
      JC

      Like

Leave a Reply

