Happy Birthday, #amwriting!

It’s amazing to realize #amwriting has been around for two years. Johanna has been the greatest part of the gift it’s been to our heroine’s life, writing and otherwise, dear Reader. Those of you who use it are a tremendous source of information, encouragement and general joy.

I was already following Johanna when #amwriting was formed. I, like many, misunderstood the tag to mean AM Writing. As I generally wrote in the mornings, I joined in. When I recognized it’s always morning somewhere, I stayed beyond the mornings and saw others bring up the question. The answer that it meant “I AM Writing” made me *facepalm* and continue as I had been, pretending I knew that all along.

Johanna and I built a strong friendship, each reading the other’s writing, each offering suggestions and encouragement which went far beyond writing. That such a friendship could come into my life at a difficult time was a generous move on the part of the Universe. It carried over to friendships with others, too many to name here. You know who you are. (I’m looking at you.)

I’ve learned so much about writing from each of you, whether your own blog posts or RT’s to others you found helpful. Bookmarks followed and I developed a body of information to mine whenever needed. You made my writing stronger. For this, I thank you and #amwriting.

So thank you, Johanna and #amwriting, for your ever-present hive mind and source of encouragement whenever needed. Hashtags come and go on Twitter, but this is standing the test of time. Happy birthday, #amwriting!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, #amwriting!

  1. Johanna Harness August 5, 2011 at 12:44 pm Reply

    Thanks so much, Jess. You are a blessing in my life too. The #amwriting community would not be the same without you.

    Next stop is Gem State Writers: http://gemstatewriters.wordpress.com/2011/08/03/making-connections/

    Like

  2. […] JC Rosen’s Girl Meets Word: JC remembers early days of #amwriting and thanks all for the continued support and writing advice.  We love you too, Jess! […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

