New Name But the Same

Our heroine knew the domain name she wanted to use, would naturally use, was taken, dear Reader. I consoled myself with one near it. After all, the chances the other Jessica Rosen was a writer were slim and there was no website associated with it.

Slim turned out to be enough. The other Jessica Rosen published a book and I wish her the best with it.

It forced a slight change in my name, though. You’ll note I’m now JC Rosen. The J is for Jess, obviously. The C is after my mother’s name. And Rosen? Well, a Rosen by any other name would smell as sweet.

A Rosen is a Rosen is a Rosen.

Tagged: , ,

9 thoughts on “New Name But the Same

  1. johannaharness May 24, 2011 at 3:21 pm Reply

    JC Rosen is a beautiful name. It looks good on you. 😀

    Like

    • JC Rosen May 24, 2011 at 3:55 pm Reply

      In a weird way, it seems more professional and yet quirky to me. Appropriate, don’t you think?

      Take care,
      JC

      Like

  2. cookme25 May 24, 2011 at 3:26 pm Reply

    Love the new name, its different, keeps us on our toes, especially when you are forced to follow the same schedule week after week from August to June

    Like

    • JC Rosen May 24, 2011 at 3:55 pm Reply

      You know how I love keeping you on your toes! Thanks for your comment. We’ll keep you busy.

      Take care,
      JC

      Like

  3. john Ross Barnes May 25, 2011 at 2:16 am Reply

    Jc is good. I LIKe IT!

    My oldest Brother started out as Gary, legally changed it to just G. for the next 30 years and eventually went with Graham because he got tired of trying to explain/defend G. I still call Him G., his preference.
    The point there was what do You prefer to be addressed as? And no, I will not call you “The Princess of all media”.;-D

    Like

    • JC Rosen May 25, 2011 at 3:27 pm Reply

      I love the story about your brother. Thanks for sharing it, John. I actually grew up with a different nickname, but I have been Jess by choice for longer than the other. My family of origin still calls me by the old one.

      What would I prefer to be called? I anticipate those who knew me as Jess will continue to call me Jess, just as those new to me will call me JC. Please, call me Jess. That being said…

      Take care,
      JC

      Like

  4. Debra Marrs May 25, 2011 at 1:47 pm Reply

    You’ll always be Jess to me, but JC Rosen is a fab nom de plume, an androgynous name that will allow you to write behind your fictional curtain as whomever you choose to be. Don’t you love when the Universe pushes you to the edge of something new so you can springboard from there. Keep writing!

    Like

    • JC Rosen May 25, 2011 at 3:32 pm Reply

      Debra! I’m so glad to see you, have missed you so much. I hope the Universe has brought you joy and excitement within and without your professional life.

      Yes, absolutely, I was nudged and then pushed hard. I’m happy about it. The name is distinctive and it memorializes my mother in part. I’m feeling more comfortable seeing it in text and feeling it as my name. Pretty nifty.

      Take care,
      JC

      Like

      • Debra Marrs May 25, 2011 at 9:00 pm

        VERY nifty, indeed! Good to be back and connecting!

        Like

Leave a Reply

