The Art of Living

Due to health issues spinning out of control, our heroine spun out of control, dear Reader. I participated in the artful world for precious yet brief times, stringing them together to form a piece of flash. I got my work done for Escape Into Life, too. I can’t say my thoughts were so much on the art. Rather, they were furious attacks against the situation which kept me from the artistic world.

Tuesday afternoon, I will be getting the Botox injections for the first time. They’re supposed to work immediately. The treatment will keep me migraine-free for three to four months. Rinse, repeat. As migraines were the root of it all, the difference will be nothing short of amazing.

I find myself in the curious position of gathering the little bits of life I lost over the last three years. All the things I miss doing for myself. These little bits of independence, of my life, I place in a colorful woven basket in my mind. They are formed into colorful stones, each a different design.

I plan to take the pieces out of the basket and use them to create a mosaic. More stones will likely join them as I recognize other areas of independence. This will be the symbol I carry in my mind to help me keep perspective when needed. The mosaic is my Art of Living.

What is yours?

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “The Art of Living

  1. Johanna Harness February 21, 2011 at 8:23 am Reply

    Beautiful, Jess!

    Like

    • Jessica Rosen February 25, 2011 at 9:56 pm Reply

      Thank you, Johanna. Your support has been a blessing.

      Take care,
      Jess

      Like

  2. John Ross Barnes February 21, 2011 at 12:07 pm Reply

    It’s good to have you back. My wife Ginny gets migraines also. Sounds like an interesting treatment. Let us all know how that works please. I’m sure there are a lot of folks who will be interested.

    I certainly understand how medical issues can derail one’s train of life. Been dealing with that for some time now myself so I definitely feel for you there.

    Thanks for this post,

    John

    Like

    • Jessica Rosen February 25, 2011 at 10:09 pm Reply

      Thanks, John. I’m sorry to hear you and your wife can understand these issues. They’re unpleasant at best and most of us wish we could wish them away. I’m learning to expect of myself what is reasonable in what seems an unreasonable situation. Definitely an uphill learning curve.

      The Botox treatment is approved for use in patients who have more than 15 migraines per month, each lasting at least four hours. Unfortunately, I easily fit that description. I hope Ginny does not. Even one a few times a year is a few too many.

      I was told by someone, not my neuro, the Botox would stop the migraines immediately. That isn’t true. First effects are felt between one and two weeks after the injections. Full effects aren’t felt for a month or two. In addition, some patients need to undergo the second round for the first hint of migraine suppression. The overachiever in me senses a challenge.

      Stay strong and stay yourself. That’s what I remind myself when it gets tough. Sometimes it even helps.

      Really appreciate your comments and support.
      Take care,
      Jess

      Like

      • John Ross Barnes February 25, 2011 at 10:18 pm

        Thanks for the great info jess! Ginny gets thems probably

        Like

  3. John Ross Barnes February 25, 2011 at 10:22 pm Reply

    Ack – premature posting issue! Ahem, Ginny gets them two or three times a month so I see she wouldn’t be a botox candidate. Her meds seem to help this a good bit, though for a while they were likely to last 2-3 days, or until we took her to emergency for heavy duty I-V type stuff.

    Hoping that new treatment does wonders for you,

    john ross

    Like

    • Jessica Rosen March 26, 2011 at 3:16 pm Reply

      An update: The Botox has made a definite difference. I get a migraine rarely now and they’re not crippling. It’s really worth it if you get them a lot. I hope Ginny keeps on treating them the way she does. There are meds she might take daily to prevent them. Might ask the neurologist for them.

      Take care,
      Jess

      Like

Leave a Reply

