NaNo10: Is it over yet?

Ah, NaNoWriMo, stealer of Novembers for so many. You pluck us out of Halloween celebrations and plunk us down in a world obsessed with the commercialization of the holidays. For USA participants, you made balancing Thanksgiving with writing a family-based challenge. Why do we love you so?

Yes, our heroine took part in NaNo10, dear Reader. It is as inevitable for me as the coming of the commercials for Black Friday and Cyber Monday emails.

There are any number of reasons why people do NaNo. Some of the most popular reasons are the fun of the group involved, the pressure, the mutual support system and reaching beyond what might otherwise be possible. Recognize yourself in any of those? I do it as a celebration of the spirit of creation, a way of reminding myself to let all the other stuff fall away and **just write**.

I lucked out this year. I didn’t discover my notes for the plotline were corrupted until after I hit the 50k, halfway through the book. Now I’m sticking with it, rewriting the second half of the book’s outline. After that? Of course I’m going to write it. When the first draft is complete, NaNo will be over for me.

Is it over for you yet? If not, if you want to continue writing the novel or start editing what you already have, come join us in Twitter’s #PostNaNo. Many of us are supporting one another, encouraging each participant, to meet the individual’s goals. I’ve already told you mine. What are yours?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “NaNo10: Is it over yet?

  1. Johanna Harness November 30, 2010 at 2:57 pm Reply

    Great idea, Jess!

    Like

    • Jessica Rosen November 30, 2010 at 6:59 pm Reply

      Thanks, Johanna. I can’t take credit for it completely. There were a few of us chatting about wanting the pressure and support to continue as we worked on our novels. @Danisidhe was pivotal in the conversation and I can’t wait to work with her to maintain it.

      Take care,
      Jess

      Like

  2. Phlegyas November 30, 2010 at 2:58 pm Reply

    JUST FINISHED!!!
    well not exactly… I mean, I just won. But the story is ummm well I don’t know what’s wrong with it. It’s certainly not what I had in mind. I just kept writing around a wormhole in my plot. Now that I will have more time I’ll be able to edit, correct and why not, maybe some day printout =)
    I’ll be seeing everyone in #PostNaNo
    TC
    Phlegyas!

    Like

    • Jessica Rosen November 30, 2010 at 6:57 pm Reply

      Fantastic! Wow, you really pushed yourself on that one. So glad you’ll be joining us in #PostNaNo – your enthusiastic encouragement is always a joy.

      Take care,
      Jess

      Like

Leave a Reply

