#PostNaNo

Our heroine understands all too well it may be too soon for you to be thinking of what happens after NaNo is done, dear Reader. I’m just floating some ideas here. No commitments required. Comments, pro and con, are gratefully accepted.

There are any number of NaNoWriMo participants who take their novels (or whatever format being used) seriously. They’re dedicated to completing the first draft even though that takes longer than the thirty days of November. These individuals may or may not have hit the magical 50k in time. It doesn’t matter. They’ve developed the habit of writing and the dedication to finishing. Are you one of these people?

The support given by the #NaNo and #NaNoWriMo hashtag (not to mention #amwriting) users is integral for many in the process of writing this intensely. Let’s consider continuing that mutual support by adopting the #PostNaNo hashtag on December 1st. Several of us have discussed it and will lead the charge. We hope you’ll think about joining in.

Please, let the ideas flow! In the meantime, we return you to your normally scheduled NaNo writing with the best of wishes and loads of sparkly words.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “#PostNaNo

  1. Teresa Watson November 15, 2010 at 11:22 am Reply

    I totally agree with you! Count me in! I need all the support I can get and I know I am not the only one.

    Like

  2. Cara Powers November 15, 2010 at 6:55 pm Reply

    Count me in! It’s it’s lonely w/o the WriMo’s.

    Like

  3. amber November 15, 2010 at 7:33 pm Reply

    I’ll help support it, as I really need the support as well 🙂

    Like

  4. calliopeconsult November 15, 2010 at 9:03 pm Reply

    I’m all over this like (metaphor) tho not sure if long-distance, virtual support can work.

    Like

  5. Tamela November 15, 2010 at 11:19 pm Reply

    Brilliant idea!

    Like

  6. John Ross November 16, 2010 at 12:05 am Reply

    Though I’m not doing NaNo, I’m following some of you who are with avid interest and baited breath. No, really.
    Having the support of others is important to people who are swimming out from the shallows towards the deep blue hero zones. Write now(spelling intentional) #amwriting is about all I can comfortably do. Some day I hope to be ready for NaNo. Thanks for all your kind help & considerations.

    Like

  7. Caroline Halliwell November 16, 2010 at 12:27 am Reply

    What a wonderful thoughtful idea Jess! I am soooo in…let me and other know where, when and how..will I guess when is after Nov.30 !
    Thank you,
    Caroline

    Like

  8. Phlegyas November 16, 2010 at 5:24 am Reply

    As someone who kicked off late with a slow start and who still glides through NaNoWriMo at the pace snails roam the gardens after a rainy day, I find it awesome that after the #nanowrimo hashtag becomes obsolete (yeah, okay, not exactly but you get what I mean) there will still be a community to hang out with and enjoy reciprocal help.
    Quick note tho, should it be #PostNaNo or #PostWriMo ? =)
    Thanx for the initiative guys.

    Like

  9. Jessica Rosen November 16, 2010 at 6:34 am Reply

    Wow, thanks to everyone who commented here and on Twitter. The response has been positive, so I feel pretty sure we can as a group maintain a sense of community and support – not to mention a little fun and goofiness when needed. We all need to blow off steam sometimes. Looking forward to taking part in the project with all of you.

    Take care,
    Jess

    Like

  10. Steve LeBlanc November 22, 2010 at 6:32 pm Reply

    Sounds promising. I hope to keep going. I just hit my 50k today. But I’ve got another 10-20k I want to write. Hope to do 10k by end of month. After that, I may add more or start to edit. I have come to love my novel. I want to see it published, even if I have to do POD. Here are my stats, synopsis and excerpt. http://www.nanowrimo.org/eng/user/744508

    Great idea Jessica.

    Like

    • Jessica Rosen November 22, 2010 at 7:14 pm Reply

      Congratulations on hitting the 50k, Steve! It’s a wonderful feeling, being able to embrace what you wrote and wanting to charge ahead to complete it, polish it and enter into the task of seeing it published. That’s exactly what we want to do with #PostNaNo. I look forward to exchanging tweets with you.

      Take care,
      Jess

      Like

Leave a Reply

