My Pre-NaNo Tradition

Can it really be October 25th? Sure is. While most of the world is preparing for Halloween/Samhain, our heroine is getting ready for NaNoWriMo. You, too, dear Reader? Well, imagine that.

I’ve done NaNo a few times now. Always, something has gone awry, usually with my health. The first two or three years, I gave in and admitted defeat when it happened. I don’t even count one year on my profile because I gave up on day three. I got into the habit of calling it my NaNo Curse. I find that amusing now. I almost look forward to my showdown with the NaNo Curse each year. It tests me and now my determination to beat it is strong.

It also makes for a particular shopping list. I’d be mad to expect health issues without preparing for them, right? Right. So I start with the basics: Nature’s Plus Source of Life vitamins, Vitamin C, Zinc and my usual extra minerals. They boost my immune system. (Why don’t I take them all the time? Hush, you. I know I should.) Ibuprofen and daytime colds medicine, just in case. I get my Ace bandages handy and pick up a bag of frozen peas. Seriously, peas. My orthopedic surgeon stocks them in his office, says they’re the best for icing injuries.

I’m a firm believer that the more prepared you are, the less you’ll require the preparation. My NaNo Curse health stuff has often been more serious than a simple cold or sprain. Still, by preparing this way, I have the “I’m all ready, Curse, and you’re going down” vibe nice and strong. Great attitude boost.

In fact, it helps it so much I’m thinking the NaNo Curse may skip this year.

Tagged: , , , , ,

17 thoughts on “My Pre-NaNo Tradition

  1. Synoiz October 25, 2010 at 12:34 pm Reply

    What a practical approach to it! I guess a lot of people who haven’t taken part in NaNoWriMo before don’t realise just what a hard task it is! I’d love to be taking part this year but I gotta have a break eventually and November is that month. Can you reveal anything about this year’s NaNo idea yet?

    Like

    • Jessica Rosen October 26, 2010 at 12:35 pm Reply

      That’s just it, though. It doesn’t have to be *that* hard. Sure, for busy people the real challenge is to find enough time to write. There are plenty of tricks and tips (I’ll cover those next week, probably) to write more quickly during the little time you have. Getting prepared is the best thing a wrimo can do when faced with NaNo.

      My NaNo? It’s a historical romance set in the factual post-Revolutionary War American States. We start off in Scotland, but the heroine is sent to an estate in the States when she’s considered sullied. No fantasy world this time, so no world building to help me cheat.

      Taking a rest when needed is a smart move. Your interest and support for wrimos during November is a gift.

      Take care,
      Jess

      Like

  2. Johanna Harness October 25, 2010 at 1:15 pm Reply

    You are going to rock this NaNo. No curse for you!

    Like

    • Jessica Rosen October 26, 2010 at 12:39 pm Reply

      Oh no, earworm! I have the Clash in my head perverting “Rock the Casbah.” I hope you do now, too. I’m going to do my best to rock NaNo10. Sure hope you’re going to be a rock star, too. No cold feet!

      Take care,
      Jess

      Like

  3. alainarkraus October 25, 2010 at 1:46 pm Reply

    You post totally made me lol. I can’t say I have the same continuity that you do, but I definitely suffered from an electronic curse year 1 of NaNo. I literally had two laptops and a desktop go out on me in the course of the month before I threw in the towel. Actually, now that I think about it, I was computerless part of last NaNo too with the laptop that had replaced the previous one giving up the ghost in October. Now I back up in about 3 places and do most of my writing in Google docs 😉

    Like

    • Jessica Rosen October 26, 2010 at 12:41 pm Reply

      Whoa, that’s some seriously bad electronic karma. Hopefully, you got rid of it and are back in electronica’s good graces. You nailed it, though: backing up in multiple places is *key* in any project, but especially NaNo. There’s no time to dig through your computer to find a misplaced file or to try to recreate the last 3k words.

      Take care,
      Jess

      Like

  4. Jewelsea October 25, 2010 at 2:56 pm Reply

    Hurrah for you! This is my second attempt at NaNoWriMo. The first time I just flat out gave up. But this year I am prepping (this week!) by outlining my plot. What a concept! Go us!

    Like

    • Jessica Rosen October 26, 2010 at 12:44 pm Reply

      I understand flat out giving up. NaNo can seem utterly overwhelming until you grab it, beat it and tie it in a chair. Prep is awesome, it’ll really help. So does support. Use the #amwriting and #NaNo hashtags on Twitter to be part of an actively writing group. Of course, there are Forums on the NaNo site, too. Please feel free to get in touch with me directly if you like. My username on Twitter is @jessrosenbooks and my email’s posted in the sidebar.

      Take care,
      Jess

      Like

  5. pr3ttyUgly October 25, 2010 at 3:18 pm Reply

    I’m supporting you all the way to 50,000 plus words this year. Woot! You gonna do it!!!

    Like

    • Jessica Rosen October 26, 2010 at 12:45 pm Reply

      Hey, thanks! I’m going to take as many with me as I can – Wrimos Unite! Are you going to be part of NaNo?

      Take care,
      Jess

      Like

  6. Elizabeth Saunders October 25, 2010 at 6:23 pm Reply

    I took my extra vitamins today! (thanks for the reminder)

    Like

    • Jessica Rosen October 26, 2010 at 12:46 pm Reply

      Too funny – would you believe your comment from yesterday reminded me to take mine today?

      Take care,
      Jess

      Like

  7. Angela Perry October 26, 2010 at 12:53 pm Reply

    This will be my seventh year doing NaNoWriMo. I haven’t won yet, but this is the year! I’m going to get everything on your checklist, my checklist, and some extra cookies for good measure.

    Like

    • Jessica Rosen October 26, 2010 at 3:15 pm Reply

      Excellent, Angela! This is lucky number seven, I can feel it. Get in touch with me whenever you like, if only to snark about NaNo. Sometimes it helps to get that off your chest. You’ll hit that 50k and leave it in your dust.

      Take care,
      Jess

      Like

  8. Tessa October 27, 2010 at 12:29 am Reply

    I’m doing NaNo for the first time but I’ll be starting a week behind (gulp!) because I’m vacationing in Scotland right now. I can do this, though – right? Yeah, yeah, surely I can. =)

    Like

    • Jessica Rosen October 27, 2010 at 5:59 pm Reply

      You’re having a great time in Scotland, I hope. A great time with NaNo awaits your return. You definitely can do it, Tessa! Let me know when you get back if you like and feel free to contact me whenever you like.

      Take care,
      Jess

      Like

  9. […] 11. Jess Rosen’s My Pre-NaNo Tradition […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

