Carousels and Versatile Blogger Award

Yes, Dear Reader, our heroine is here and ready to get back on the ride.

The delightful Jane Steen awarded Girl Meets Word (that’s this blog) the Versatile Blogger Award! Like Jane mentioned in her blog, Keep Going You Fool!, I’ve dealt with guilt over not keeping this blog (and my writing… and my crit reading…) up to date. Hey, we’re Wonder Writers, we write no matter what! Well, perhaps not. Life happens.

Luckily, we forge ahead. The carousel that is the writing life awaits. Jane’s passing along the Versatile Blogger Award couldn’t have come at a better time. (When the blogger is ready, the award will appear?) A delightful kick in the tush as I prepare to reboard the carousel. Thanks so much, Jane!

As with many awards, this one comes with rules. Ready?

  1. Thank and link back to the person who gave you the award.
  2. Share seven things about yourself.
  3. Pass the award to fifteen bloggers you think deserve it.
  4. Contact each of the bloggers you chose.

Seven things you don’t already know about me:

  1. I left home at 16 to go to college. My principal nearly forced me to officially drop out of high school so I could go. I mentioned the local newspapers and television news might find that of interest. He changed his mind.
  2. I was once (maybe even twice) an ardent Role Play Gamer. Tournaments, weekly games, testing new gaming systems, I was right there. I also managed a gaming store for a while. Discounts rock.
  3. I was part of a medieval re-enactment group for several years. No, not the SCA. It was called Markland and was far smaller than the SCA. We prided ourselves on being more historically accurate. No lords and ladies, we were all peasants. Great fun!
  4. I quit smoking over a year ago. Again. I managed to quit for ten years, but started up once again on 9/11. I do still indulge in a pack of cloves a couple times a year.
  5. Last night, I drank a cleverly disguised “flavored beer.” Its disguise? A wine cooler. Not a hint of beer to it, it was heavily flavored as strawberry daiquiri. It was even shelved with the wine coolers. How did I discover this? That’s in #6.
  6. I’m a compulsive reader. Labels, cereal boxes, Starbucks cups (come on, who reads their coffee cup?), I read them. Finding “Flavored Beer” on the back of my wine cooler bottle was inevitable.
  7. My dog’s name is Sophie. The main character’s dog in the novel I’m rewriting is Sadie. I tend to get them confused when I’ve had my head in the novel for an extended period. Sophie’s kind and understanding about it.

Phew! Okay, what was the next one? Fifteen more bloggers. Fifteen? I listed a number of great ones in a previous post and recommend them highly. As I am boggled by the prospect of finding fifteen new bloggers, I’ll just dive in and see how many I net.

  1. Griffie World by LK Gardner-Griffie. Creator of Misfit McCabe, her Nowhere Feels Like Home won the 2010 Pearson Prize Teen Choice Award. Well done!
  2. 13 to Life by Shannon Delany. Shannon’s 13 to Life: A Werewolf Tale is taking the YA world by the tale. (See what I did there? I crack myself up.) She’ll be signing movie rights, mark my words.
  3. Vivian Arend: Red, Hot and Wild is just what the title says. Vivian‘s incredibly versatile, writing contemporary and paranormal romances with variable levels of erotica for the discerning reader.
  4. The #FridayFlash Collector, maintained by J. M. Strother, is a terrific way for writers of short short fiction (up to 1k words) to share their work. The feedback is always helpful and encouraging.
  5. #Amwriting, a Twitter hashtag created by Johanna Harness now has a site including FAQ, author directory and links to cool #amwriting stuff. (#Amwriting is short for “I am writing,” not just writing in the morning, just fyi.)
  6. Skycycler contains some of the best flash fiction I’ve read. Simon‘s ability to take the language and weave tapestries of words is remarkable.
  7. Crone’s Cauldron Publications by Gracie Motley. Her “Simmering Tales of Speculative Fiction” are a delight. A prolific writer, she dabbles in a variety of genres to great effect.
  8. Future; nostalgic by Sam. Sam is a contributer to various serial flash fiction outlets and you can catch up with his clever work here. In fact, that leads me to…
  9. The Penny Dreadful Online. “Resurrecting the Art of Serial Fiction,” The Penny Dreadful is an exciting collection of creative stories, episode by episode. Many talented authors contribute to TPD, so you can spend happy time grazing the site.
  10. The Wit and Weirdness of Al Bruno III by none other than Al Bruno III. As he writes on his site, he “prefers to write comedy and horror but is sometimes unsure of the difference.” Check it out and see if you can tell which is which.
  11. The Sulci Collective by Marc Nash. Fascinating flash fiction and his debut novel A, B & E looks to be just as good. Check it out via the links on the blog when you stop to read his stories.

Phew redux! I’m sure I’ll add a few more, but the coffee’s ready and it smells divine. My need for caffeine is overwhelming. Off I go for a mug and I’ll bring the pot back for those who want.

Tagged: , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Carousels and Versatile Blogger Award

  1. Shannon Delany July 11, 2010 at 2:29 pm Reply

    DUDE! You were Markland?! I was, too (years back) with a group of re-enactors. Thank you VERY much for your kind words (from your key-tapping fingertips to God’s monitor!). I gladly accept the blog award–and look what cool company I’m in!

    Thank you, thank you–so glad you’re back in the writing world!
    ~Shannon

    Like

  2. Gracie July 11, 2010 at 2:31 pm Reply

    Aw, thank you, Jess! And so glad to see you’re back at it. We were missing you.

    And congratulations on your award. With your always lovely writing, you absolutely deserve it.

    Thanks again for thinking of me. 🙂

    Like

  3. J. M. Strother July 11, 2010 at 5:26 pm Reply

    Thanks, Jessica. Looks like I’m in good company. I know all too well how life gets in the way at times. Glad you’re writing again.
    ~jon

    Like

  4. […] these awards upon me. Sadly, I got distracted and didn’t pass them on right away. Then today, Jess Rosen kindly presented me with the Versatile Blogger Award, so I’m going to pass on both before I […]

    Like

  5. Jane Steen July 11, 2010 at 9:38 pm Reply

    Of COURSE I read my coffee cup. I lingered at the restaurant table today so that I could read the label on the ketchup bottle thoroughly.

    Like

Leave a Reply

