Honest Scrap Award

Our heroine has been given an award, dear Reader.

An author I respect, whom I also consider a friend, passed along the Honest Scrap blog award last week. Her name is Shannon Delany and her novel, 13 to Life: A Werewolf’s Tale, is due out soon. (Yay, Shannon!) It’s the first of a series. I predict great things for Shannon and this series. Thank you, Shannon, for your kind words and encouragement. (By the way, you can pre-order 13 to Life at Barnes and Noble, Booksamillion and lots of other places.)

Confession time: Jamie DeBree, keeper of the dynamic blog The Variety Pages, passed this award on to me when I was just a baby blogger and had no clue what to do with it. Procrastination and overwhelm led me to pass it by. Thank you to Jamie as well. Your support has been appreciated.

Following Shannon’s example, it appears I’m to list ten things you may not know about me before I pass the award on. There are most certainly more than ten. The trick is choosing which ten I care to reveal. Here goes…

  1. I studied classical piano as a child into high school.
  2. I converted card catalogs of exclusive libraries (i.e. Folger) and art collections (i.e. Life Magazine) into strict digital format. (And I loved it!)
  3. I have two grown sons.
  4. I stopped writing for more than fifteen years after a debacle that destroyed all copies of all of my writing. Novels, poetry, shorts… gone. (Friends blessedly recovered a few pieces I shared.) I began writing again in Spring of 2009.
  5. I cooked in an Italian restaurant, then in a hotel. The Italian place was okay, but I hated the hotel.
  6. I grew up in retail. My family owned women’s clothing stores. I began working in the store at age six.
  7. I read my first sci fi book at age five.
  8. I collected classic women’s hats in my teens and early twenties.
  9. I tutored ESL to Spanish and Arabic speakers as well as grammar and composition to native English speakers.
  10. I began college at the tender age of sixteen. I dropped out at the slightly less tender age of eighteen to see the world.

And now it’s time to pass the Honest Scrap Award along. I send it to our Fearless Leader at #amwriting, Johanna Harness. Her blog is continually filled with delightful observations and wonderfully useful suggestions. I want to be just like her when I grow up.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Honest Scrap Award

  1. Anne Tyler Lord February 8, 2010 at 1:26 pm Reply

    Wow! You have a fascinating history! You are quite a child prodigy!

    You are just as excellent of an award recipient as Johanna! Congrats to you both.

    Do you still have the hat collection?

    I just cringe at the thought of losing all my writing, that must have been devastating, but I (and I’m sure everyone else) am very glad you decided to return to writing!

    Like

    • Jessica Rosen February 8, 2010 at 1:52 pm Reply

      Thanks, Anne. I’ve done a little of this, a little of that, since I left college to “see the real world.” Alas, my parents did away with my hat collection while I was on my journey.

      Losing the writing made what was already a low point much lower, as you can imagine. I appreciate the encouragement now that I’m back in the grip of the shiny word addiction.

      Take care,
      Jess

      Like

  2. Jamie D. (@Variety Pages) February 8, 2010 at 4:52 pm Reply

    I bet that hat collection was a thing of beauty. 🙂 Good to know more about you!

    Like

    • Jessica Rosen February 9, 2010 at 4:01 am Reply

      My favorite hat was from the late 20’s. It was a large feathered roll that wrapped up the side and over the crown of the head like a tight wing when it opened up. Not very comfortable, but gorgeous!

      Thanks for everything, Jamie.

      Take care,
      Jess

      Like

  3. Shannon Delany February 8, 2010 at 5:36 pm Reply

    *hugs* I’m so glad you’re back up on the horse and writing, Jess. With all the things you’ve already accomplished, I’m sure there are lots of memorable experiences to draw from for your stories. Write on!

    Like

    • Jessica Rosen February 9, 2010 at 4:05 am Reply

      Thanks a bunch for the encouragement as well as the award, Shannon. My first step back to writing was three weeks in November 2008, when I won NaNo 2008. I didn’t finish that novel (yet!) once I hit 53k and only came back to writing in Spring 2009. Now that I’m back on the horse, you can’t get me out of the saddle.

      Onward!

      Take care,
      Jess

      Like

Leave a Reply

