Conquering Challenges: The Conclusion?

Our heroine is not going into details, dear Reader. Details would be self-serving. They might make you uncomfortable. Little point in either. Suffice to say that 2009 in its entirety has been a most difficult year on the health front.

I mentioned the Brainspin a while back. It was a side effect of treatment for the larger issue. It’s much better. Comes and goes, but nowhere near as disorienting as it was. We give that a yay! (Including a rare exclamation point.)

As for the larger issue, I will say it was quite large. Evidence suggests that after eleven surgeries this year alone and other unpleasantries, the larger issue has resolved. This is given a big honking YAY! To have gone more than two weeks without the medication that allowed me to survive and not relapse is amazing. I plan to continue this progress and take steps to recover fully.

I thank those of you on Twitter and Yahoo Messenger for keeping my spirit alive and well. Most of you didn’t know of my struggle. That’s the way I wanted it. My spirit and joy were kept alive by you and by writing. You taught me to write better novels and challenged me to raise the bar. You are amazing people. Never doubt or forget that. I will remind you if you do.

With your encouragement and my novels keeping me spirited, I walk into 2010 with my head held high. You’ll never know what being able to do that means to me. 2010 is going to rock, and rock hard, for all of us.

Onward!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

14 thoughts on “Conquering Challenges: The Conclusion?

  1. Jamie D. (@Variety Pages) December 24, 2009 at 5:46 pm Reply

    Yay – and Yay! So glad things seem to be smoothing out for you, and I’m glad to have made your acquaintance via twitter. Here’s to a happy, healthy and pain free 2010! 🙂

    Like

    • Jessica Rosen December 25, 2009 at 12:37 am Reply

      Always good to see you, Jamie. Thank you for being so positive and fun. Really glad Twitter brought us together.

      Take good care,
      Jessica

      Like

  2. Deanna Schrayer December 24, 2009 at 6:14 pm Reply

    Hi Jessica. I found you via Anne Tyler Lord on Twitter, and am glad I did. It sounds like you’re a strong spirit. I’m so happy for you that you’ve made it so far and are pushing onward and upward. I’ll follow you on Twitter whenever I can get the dad-blamed page to work. 🙂
    Good luck to you and I hope you get all you wish for 2010!

    Like

    • Jessica Rosen December 25, 2009 at 12:40 am Reply

      Hi, Deanna. Glad you stopped by, please thank Anne Tyler Lord for me. Thanks for your very kind thoughts. Please do follow and @ me when you get a chance so I can follow you back. I’m horrible about letting the New Followers list grow without checking it. I look forward to getting to know you better.

      Take care,
      Jessica Rosen

      Like

  3. DonP December 24, 2009 at 8:17 pm Reply

    I’m so incredibly happy for you! Happy Holidays!

    Like

    • Jessica Rosen December 25, 2009 at 12:42 am Reply

      Dear Don! Thanks very much. I hope your holidays are wonderful, too, despite your parents’ woeful liquor cabinet.

      Take care,
      Jessica

      Like

  4. Johanna Harness December 25, 2009 at 12:48 pm Reply

    Tears of joy for you, Jessica. You rocked 2009 while dealing with all of this. Just think what you can do this next year. Amazing!

    Like

    • Jessica Rosen December 25, 2009 at 3:50 pm Reply

      Blessed be, FL. Thank you. Your dedication and determination were great examples. I wrote through some of the worst of it reminding myself that a writer writes, no matter what else is going on. Even if she has to get up at 4-5:00 AM to find the time, like someone I know.

      Put a good word in with your soon-to-be-found agent for me, kay?

      Take good care,
      Jessica

      Like

  5. Anthony James Barnett - author December 26, 2009 at 4:07 pm Reply

    May the New Year bring everything, resolve everything, and shower you with good health, wealth, and happiness.

    Like

    • Jessica Rosen December 26, 2009 at 6:25 pm Reply

      Anthony, so nice of you to stop by. What a beautiful sentiment as well. I thank you and hope you and yours are so blessed in the coming year. May you share pleasure and joy with one another.

      Take care,
      Jessica Rosen

      Like

  6. Anne Tyler Lord December 26, 2009 at 8:33 pm Reply

    Jessica,
    I’m so glad to make your acquaintance on Twitter and didn’t know about your health problems. It sounds like you have had a very challenging year! I hope the new year brings better times with increased health! You are a very courageous person and I’m sure some good stories will come of it all!
    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you!!

    Like

    • Jessica Rosen December 27, 2009 at 12:42 am Reply

      Thanks so much, Anne. That’s kind of you and much appreciated. I’m glad to have met you as well. We all do what we have to do. I’m expecting 2010 to offer more delightful challenges for all of us.

      I hope the holidays have been good to you and yours. Happy 2010!

      Take care,
      Jessica Rosen

      Like

  7. Clare Sager December 27, 2009 at 7:25 pm Reply

    I’m glad things seem to be working out for you – I’ll keep my fingers crossed that your health continues to improve! Just keep sharing your thoughts and links in your wonderful posts 🙂 Happy Yule to you and yours!

    Like

    • Jessica Rosen December 27, 2009 at 8:11 pm Reply

      Thank you for your kind wishes, Clare. I appreciate your leaving a sweet comment. They’d have to shut down the blog to shut me up! Happy Yule and blessed be.

      Take care,
      Jessica Rosen

      Like

Leave a Reply

