Optimism

Our heroine is having an optimistic morning, dear Reader. @RKCharron announces releases on Twitter and congratulates the authors every Tuesday morning. I was uppity enough to think, “How cool will it be when it’s my turn for one of those!”

I mean…. really… we have pushed in our faces all day, every day, that the odds are against us as writers. The hurdles to getting published are tall and many. Yes, it comes down to writing a good story, but you’ve got to get your story read for that to matter. Synopses, queries, platforms, pitches, hurdle, hurdle, hurdle, oh my!

Do you have your up days and down days as far as publishing goes? I sure do. The simple fact that one does not query until one has a novel that’s pristine and ready to be seen keeps me going. I don’t have to face those hurdles yet. I’m submersed in the joy of the writing. In fact, I’m doing the writing still, not the re-writing. I won’t get to the re-writing until I finish the book I begin next month during NaNo. Sometimes my attitude starts to slip and I begin to think, “Why do we bother in the face of these absurd odds?” I stick my head right down into the sand and get to writing.

This sure doesn’t sound like a post about optimism, does it? It is, I promise. Yes, even I, with the attitude and coping mechanism I just described, can be optimistic for days on end. I want to say weeks on end, but I might be pushing it there. If what it comes down to is the story, hey, I’ve got a good story. I’m even writing it well. Sometimes I finish a scene in my rough draft and stop cold. “Nailed it!” That feels amazing. So yeah, if what it comes down to is the story, why not me?

I follow many people on Twitter. I carry on conversations with several regularly. Some are popular authors, some well-known literary agents. I didn’t follow them because of that. In most cases I had no idea who they were, I admit it. I followed the person because he or she posted interesting things a few times and caught my attention. These people are just like those of us who are facing the dread of queries and slush piles. They follow many of the same people, retweet many of the same posts and laugh at the same things. Twitter is the great leveler in the writing field, I suppose. We’re all the same, standing around in the same coffee shop and chatting.

So yes, our heroine is optimistic today. Why not me? And frankly, even if not me, what a wonderful thing it is to be writing these stories. There is nothing like the feeling when I get to a point in a story where I feel like I’m breathing it. I can smell it, taste it, feel it and must get it out, must share it with others. Maybe that’s enough. What a privilege that is.

I’m finishing up the rough draft of Book #2 in my Into the Mirror series. Oh, I know, you don’t write a series and try to sell it. I can’t help it, though. The stories held me hostage. What a rare and glorious privilege it’s been, getting this rough draft down. I look forward to visiting it again and re-writing it, tightening and polishing it into a gem.

That feeling, dear Reader, is in itself so wonderful that at this moment I don’t care “why not me?” It reminds me why I do this: because I have a novel in my head. I need to get it out so I can share it with others. No matter how I share it, no matter how many get to read it.

Thanks for sticking with me through a rambling post. I started with “why not me?” I ended with a simple truth “that’s not why I do this, so it doesn’t matter.” Ah, perspective. If I ever lose sight of that, smack me upside the head and make me read this post, please? Thanks.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Optimism

  1. wendy morrell October 13, 2009 at 12:48 pm Reply

    Why not you indeed?? It just takes a great deal of perseverance with skin the thickness of an elephant and an imagination that most mere mortals don’t possess!

    By the sound of things honey you have all three 🙂

    All the best on your journey.

    Like

    • Jessica Rosen October 14, 2009 at 10:24 am Reply

      How nice of you, thank you, Wendy! You’re right about that laundry list. They say that it just takes patience and to stick it out. They also say that the rejection level is remarkably high. “Skin the thickness of an elephant” it is.

      Take care,
      Jessica Rosen

      Like

  2. Christina October 13, 2009 at 1:16 pm Reply

    Yay for optimism! Sorry I can’t provide a more enlightening comment than that… but yay! 😀

    Like

    • Jessica Rosen October 14, 2009 at 10:26 am Reply

      Absolutely, Christina – a vote for optimism is worth a comment any day. Thanks for dropping by. Hope to see you around here often, especially with an attitude like that.

      Take care,
      Jessica Rosen

      Like

  3. RKCharron October 13, 2009 at 5:36 pm Reply

    Hi Jessica 🙂
    I’m in the same situation as you, deep into the writing and ignoring all the steps will come after I have the manuscript ready to go out into the world.
    Someday it’ll be your Release Day, and mine.
    For me, it won’t be really real until I see my novel in the bookstore.
    Until then I celebrate others’ success which reinforces my determination.
    🙂
    Love & Best Wishes
    RKCharron
    xoxo

    Like

    • Jessica Rosen October 14, 2009 at 10:30 am Reply

      Aha, there’s the one who started this all – @RKCharron, in the flesh, as it were. What a great idea and attitude: “Until then I celebrate others’ success which reinforces my determination.” I understand about it being real when you see it in the bookstore. That sure would do it for me, too.

      Always nice to see your posts.

      Take care,
      Jessica Rosen

      Like

Leave a Reply

