Conquering Challenges: Brainspin

I know, I know. This blog is part of my Author Platform and is therefore required to be of a certain tone. I find some of the blogs I read that are set up for this purpose to lack personality. No offense to anyone – or any blog – because I feel sure I’m breaking The Social Media Rules by even mentioning such heresy.

Our heroine has tried, dear Reader, to stay within the rigid lines set by the Social Media Gods. How has she done? Only you can really say. (And she hopes you will, right down there in the comments area.) But darnit, this blog is hers, all hers, and she’s going to occasionally post something personal.

Like this:

I have hardly written a thing recently. Other priorities have usurped my time and attention. That’s a nice, sanitized way of saying that my health has been worse than usual. It gets worse, I rest and think I’ll be able to write later in the day and suddenly it’s the next day. Rinse. Repeat.

It’s a vicious cycle, one I am usually able to avoid with discipline, meditation and – no kidding – Twitter. The writing communities on Twitter and the people I follow buoy my spirit and inflate my sense of self as a writer when they are in need. I recommend the hashtags #amwriting and #writegoal highly.

This last week, a new challenge appeared. I’ve had acute vertigo, which I’ve dubbed Brainspin. Even when sitting, I have been in the midst of a bobbling cyclone. Days have been spent seeking medical attention, usurping more of my time. Heavy meds later, I can stay seated safely. When still, I experience just the bobbling. Huzzah!

I’ve taken the opportunity to read over my WIP to date, doing a very light edit. I followed much of my own advice from a previous blog entry. I’ve gotten back in the bobbling saddle, coaxed my muse with creme brulée roast coffee and am at the precipice of New Word Order. I’m so excited to be here that I felt compelled to share it with you, dear Reader.

Challenges are aplenty in our world. We each have our own set and those of us who are compelled to write are also compelled to conquer these challenges. Care to share yours? What’s your secret for getting past them?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Conquering Challenges: Brainspin

  1. The Compostela Key September 8, 2009 at 12:40 pm Reply

    Time to write is definitely my greatest challenge and of course impatience!

    Like

    • Jessica Rosen September 8, 2009 at 3:37 pm Reply

      Time to write is a huge challenge. I’m always impressed with those who face it down and overcome it. Impatience? I know too well the feeling of thinking an entire scene and wanting it all written *now* rather than word for word. Is that what you mean?

      Take care,
      Jessica Rosen

      Like

  2. The Compostela Key September 9, 2009 at 8:52 am Reply

    Ha ha kind of…impatient because I want to be doing it as a living and raking in the Rowlingesque amounts of money! 😉 Seriously though, it would be great to have the freedom of time and the ability to indulge in the projects you really want to work on.

    Check out my new website by the way Jess, http://www.thecompostelakey.com

    Like

    • Jessica Rosen September 10, 2009 at 3:53 pm Reply

      Aha! I can understand that kind of impatience, too. I very rarely indulge in those fantasies. My friends poke and prod them at me, though, so they’re impossible to avoid. Still, I sure would like to be able to support myself doing what I love, as you put so well.

      Checking out your new site now.

      Take care,
      Jessica Rosen

      Like

  3. Christina October 5, 2009 at 10:03 am Reply

    I’m so sorry to hear about your health problems. Vertigo – or brainspin!- can’t be fun… and certainly can’t be conducive to writing. Have you ever used a voice recorder? I wonder if something like that might be useful when the bobbing and spinning makes sitting at a computer and writing difficult? (I don’t mean to minimize the experience; I imagine just thinking could be difficult with vertigo).

    I will make a terrible, guilty confession in the hopes of making you feel better (because I’m so generous like that): I have also had some trouble writing this week, and I have no good reason for it (unlike you). I have time, I’m in good health… but I get stuck easily. I know I need to read more about fastdrafting (which is what I see you’ve mentioned on Twitter) or phasedrafting (Johanna Harness, among others, has mentioned this). But I just can’t stop myself from editing as I go, which means I write so slowly, and then I get stuck on the silliest things. Not sure exactly how to overcome my own worst habits. Hmm. The story of life, right? ;-D

    As for blogs, though I haven’t commented much here, I do like the tone of your blog. It’s very fun. I don’t see how this entry is particularly out of character or too personal because it comes back to writing.

    Good luck with your writing goals, and I hope your world stops spinning!

    Like

    • Jessica Rosen October 8, 2009 at 6:09 pm Reply

      Thanks so much, Christina. It helps to have someone speak up like that. The voice recorder is a good idea. I tend to go into and out of exile (i.e. the hospital) at times and don’t have a laptop. I’m thinking micro recorder, actually. Hmm… look what you’ve started. I’ll bet I can find a demo of a voice app like you’re describing, too. Interesting to see if I can turn “my process” (doesn’t that sound snooty?) into a different format.

      I also had HUGE problems with my Inner Editor. You know what I did? I faced her down with NaNoWriMo. Just last November, I dove yet again into NaNo. My NaNo curse hit, as it always did, within days. (Curse = illness or something to use as excuse) A friend (@JSterlingS) talked me through it, coached me through the hard parts and generally wouldn’t let me give up. And somehow, I wrote my head off. Or rather, I wrote *with* my head off. “Just write, that’s all. Read later.” That was what I told myself and that’s what I did.

      I was reborn as a writer during NaNo 2008. I’m doing it this year as a celebration. I invite you to join me and the many others who are doing it. Hitting the 50k is not the challenge. Finding yourself able to *just write* is the challenge. I encourage you to take this opportunity.

      Let me know –
      Jessica Rosen

      Like

Leave a Reply

